Skip to content

Meet Our New SPA Advisor

September 22, 2010

Hello! My name is Jennifer Carignan, and I am the new career advisor for the School of Public Affairs. I thought I’d use my first blog post to introduce myself and share my thoughts on advising SPA students.

Before starting at AU in September, I spent more than two years at the Partnership for Public Service, a nonprofit here in Washington, DC. During my time at the Partnership, I advised more than 200 students on the federal job search and application process. I also worked closely with career services offices across the country to provide resources to students on federal employment.

I am now excited to share my knowledge and experience to benefit SPA students in applying for positions in the public and private sectors. Specifically, I am eager to:

  • Advise SPA students to be proactive and thoughtful about career exploration. I firmly believe that the process of finding a great career must start early, through on-campus involvement and internship experience, among other activities. These experiences enable students to consider and try opportunities that will lead them down the path of finding full-time employment or applying for an advanced degree.
  • Help students identify and land satisfying career and internship opportunities. The process of finding and applying for jobs and internships can be challenging. Through career and internship programming, resume and cover letter review, and interview preparation, I look forward to guiding students through these times.
  • Encourage students to take advantage of everything AU has to offer. The Career Center is AU’s hub for job and internship advising, but it’s not the only place to collect information about potential careers. Networking events, panels, presentations and other activities across campus also offer great learning opportunities, and I plan to impart the value of these resources to SPA students.

With that, I strongly encourage you to schedule an appointment this semester. I look forward to working with you in the near future!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

